How to keep your hair wealthy during fall/winter.

BEAUTY

tumblr_of7hc07iqc1tslbjeo1_1280

Keeping hair healthy in the winter.

My hair is very thin and fragile, so any changes in conditions that are a little too harsh for my hair will damage it. My hair was already in quite a bad condition as I bleached my hair, regularly swim in the pool and go to the beach. The strong sunlight and heat in Costa Rica isn’t much in favour of healthy hair either. However, as I arrived to Canada, where the air is dry and cold, my hair started breaking off like crazy. Every time I would brush my hair, my legs would be covered in broken hairs, some 3 – 4cm long. I’ve been trying to grow out my hair forever, so I was obviously really upset to see that so much of my hair was breaking off in just a few days. In a panic, I massaged my scalp and oiled my hair with coconut oil. It immediately made my hair shinier after I washed it, but the day after it was back to the sh*t condition. In the mornings, I would wake up with straw-like, fluffy, birds nest hair.

Now my hair is looking healthy again, and I have at least 80% less breakage than before.

 What I did?

Bedtime: I dip my finger in (cold pressed) coconut oil (get about a peas size of oil) and make it melt in my palms. Then, with my oily hands, I braid my hair. (Use a scrunchie to tie your braid to minimalise the damage!) Do not use too much oil, because you don’t want your hair to be too greasy! You just want to moisturise your hair enough so it doesn’t break.
If your not a fan of curls (which a braid will give you) you can simply twist two strands around each other, which will give you slightly wavy hair.

tumblr_inline_of7h55u6om1qg6twr_500
Shower time: Another tip is to wash your hair as little times as possible! In Costa Rica, I wash my hair 3 times a week, unless I don’t get out of the house that week. Then I only wash it once. In Canada, I only wash it 2 times a week, and it doesn’t look greasy.

Shampoo & Conditioner: I’m currently using the OGx (Organix) Keratin Shampoo and Conditioner. I really like the scent and I like the texture it gives my hair. It leaves a tiny bit of oil in your hair, which is exactly what I need. Other shampoos leave my hair soft but way too dry… and the softness only lasts for about 2 hours. A big pro about OGx is that they are not tested on animals.

tumblr_inline_of7h3nxvwg1qg6twr_500
EXTRA: Furthermore, drink a lot of water to stay hydrated. Many of us focus too much on external remedies and cures when the most effective cure is simply taking good care of your body by eating healthy and staying hydrated. Much love, Zoe

Leave a Reply

